DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION: Tuesday, May 17th, 5:00 pm CST

PLEASE NOTICE THERE ARE TWO SEPARATE RFP’S LISTED BELOW. The first RFP is the National Pork Board’s Spring RFP for 2016. The second call is the combined RFP from The National Pork Board (NPB) and Center of Excellence for Emerging and Zoonotic Animal Disease (CEEZAD). PLEASE NOTE THERE ARE SEPARATE PROPOSAL FORMATS FOR EACH CALL. Deadline is the same for both calls.


The National Pork Board is soliciting research proposals dealing with these categories:
PORK SAFETY – Post-Harvest
PORK QUALITY – Pork Quality
SUSTAINABILITY – Manure
SUSTAINABILITY – Water
SWINE HEALTH – PRRS

STAFF MEMBERS:

PORK SAFETY & QUALITY Steve Larsen slarsen@pork.org 515/223-2754
SUSTAINABILITY Allan Stokes astokes@pork.org 515/223-3447
SWINE HEALTH – General Lisa Becton lbecton@pork.org 515/223-2791

Request for Proposals for NPB ONLY
Instructions & Format for NPB ONLY
Application Website
Sign-In Page

NOTES:
Proposal selection will occur in July 2016.
Notification of grant awards will be done in September 2016.
Project funding will begin October 1, 2016.
Requests for second-year funding must be resubmitted.


 

The National Pork Board’s (NPB) Swine Health Committee and Center of Excellence for Emerging and Zoonotic Animal Disease (CEEZAD) are soliciting research proposals dealing with:

SWINE HEALTH – FOREIGN ANIMAL DISEASE

 

STAFF MEMBERS:

NPB Patrick Webb pwebb@pork.org 515-223-3441
CEEZAD Igor Morozov imorozov@vet.k-state.edu 785-532-4255

Request for Proposals for NPB and CEEZAD
Instructions & Format for NPB and CEEZAD
Application Website
Sign-In Page

NOTES:
Proposal selection will occur in July 2016.
Notification of grant awards will be done in September 2016.
Project funding will begin October 1, 2016.
Requests for second-year funding must be resubmitted.


 

New RFP Available

Mitigation of the Impact of Seasonality on Boar Fertility

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION: Tuesday, April 26th, 2016, 5:00 pm CST

Email proposals to: chostetler@pork.org

Loss of productivity due to seasonal variation in temperature affects all pork producers regardless of size of operation or geographical location. However, pork producers have few tools to address these losses. While it affects all phases of production, one area it impacts the most is reproductive efficiency of the breeding herd. Changes in temperature during the summer months leads to substantial variation in productivity of boars used for artificial insemination. This is primarily related to a significant increase in the percentage of collections that are discarded because of compromised semen quality. Publically available research in this area is limited, therefore the Animal Science Committee of the National Pork Board has given it priority and is seeking proposals that address one or more of the following:

Full RFP

Instructions & Format

STAFF MEMBER:

ANIMAL SCIENCE Chris Hostetler chostetler@pork.org 515-223-2621

NOTES:
Proposal selection will occur in early May 2016.
Notification of grant awards will be done in late May 2016.
Project funding will begin as soon as possible after that date.


 

If you have questions specific to the content of the proposal, please contact the program manager for the category to which you are submitting.
If you have questions specific to the site and submission process, please contact Bev Everitt at beveritt@pork.org or 515 223 2750. If you encounter problems with the site, note specific information about the browser type and version you are using, what you were doing when the problem occurred and the exact text of any error message and send an email with this information to helpdesk@pork.org.

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006