Iowa Producer Elected President

derrickDerrick Sleezer, Cherokee, Iowa, was elected president of the 15-member National Pork Board in June a meeting held in conjunction with World Pork Expo in Des Moines, Iowa. He is serving his second three-year term.

“I’m proud to serve my industry in leading the Pork Checkoff in the year ahead,” said Sleezer, who just concluded two years as treasurer. “Consumers are interested in understanding how food is grown, raised and marketed. I see great opportunity ahead as we share that story.”

Serving with Sleezer are Jan Archer, Goldsboro, North Carolina, as vice president and Terry O’Neel, Friend, Nebraska, as treasurer. Dale Norton, Bronson, Michigan, will serve in a non-voting role as immediate past president.

“We’re prepared to meet the challenges facing our industry,” Sleezer said. “Guided by our new five-year strategic plan, we are focused on building consumer trust, driving sustainable production and growing consumer demand for U.S. pork.”

Sleezer is an owner and employee of Sleezer, Inc., a farrow-to-finish, farrow-to-wean and farrow-to-feeder operation that has 700 sows and markets 15,000 hogs annually. The operation includes 2,000 acres of corn and soybeans. He also works for Kerber Companies in product design/implementation, safety and compliance. He represents the Pork Board on the U.S. Pork Center of Excellence board and is a member of the 2010 Pork Leadership Academy class.

Archer is an owner of Archer Farms LLC, a 1,200-sow farrow-to-wean operation that produces 31,000 weaned pigs annually. She also raises corn, soybeans and hay on 120 acres and operates Archer Consulting, which provides personnel training to the pork industry. She is a member of the 2007 Pork Leadership Academy class.

O’Neel is owner and manager of O’Neel Farm, a farrow-to-finish operation with 500 sows that markets 10,000 hogs annually. He also raises corn and soybeans on 700 acres.

Industry Says Thanks

“On behalf of the pork industry, we extend our thanks to six board members whose terms end July 1,” Sleezer said.

In addition to outgoing president Norton, the retiring members are Lisa Colby, Newburyport, Massachusetts; Brad Greenway, Mitchell, South Dakota; Craig Mensink, Preston, Minnesota; Karen Richter, Montgomery, Minnesota; and Craig Rowles, Carroll, Iowa.

In May, USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed five new members (as ranked by the Pork Act Delegate body at Pork Forum in March) to three-year terms. They are David Newman, Fargo, North Dakota; Pat FitzSimmons, Dassel, Minnesota; Bill Tentinger, LeMars, Iowa; and Gary Asay, Osco, Illinois. Kris Scheller-Stewart, King City, Missouri will serve a  two-year term, and Carl Link, Fort Recovery, Ohio, was reappointed.