The National Pork Board is a group of 15 pork producers or importers, nominated by Pork Act Delegates at the National Pork Forum and appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. The board collects the National Pork Checkoff funds and utilizes those dollars to implement programs of promotion, research and consumer information designed to enhance the marketing of U.S. pork and pork products.

Terry O’Neel – President

Terry O’Neel is the owner and manager of O’Neel Farm in Friend, Nebraska. O’Neel Farm is farrow-to-finish operation with 500 sows that markets 10,000 hogs annually. He also raises corn and soybeans on 700 acres. O’Neel has previously served on the Finance, Administrative, Domestic Marketing and Pork Safety, Quality and Human Nutrition committees. He is an Operation Main Street speaker. O’Neel served as president of the Nebraska Pork Producers Association in 2007 and was an officer and director from 2001 to 2009.

Steve Rommereim – Vice President

Steve Rommereim is the owner, manager and operator of Highland Swine in Alcester, South Dakota. Highland Swine markets 10,000 pigs annually. He also grows corn, soybeans, and alfalfa on his farm. As Treasurer, Rommereim leads the National Pork Board Finance committees and currently serves on the National Pork Board Producer and State Services committee. He is an Operation Main Street speaker and has served as a delegate for South Dakota to the Pork Industry Forum since 2003. He also served on the National Pork Board’s Plan of Work Task Force in 2009. He served as president of the South Dakota Pork Producers Association in 2009-10 and was on the board from 2001 to 2011. He also serves on the South Dakota Animal Industry Board.

Dr. Brett Kaysen – Treasurer


Brett Kaysen of Nunn, Colo., is a partner in Flatland Showpigs. He is a seedstock producer and markets 480 pigs annually. Nationally, Kaysen is serving his first three-year term on the National Pork Board. He also serves on Pork Checkoff Youth PQA Plus® task force committee. He is an Operation Main Street 2.0 speaker and serves on the National Junior Swine Association board of directors. At the state level Brett serves on the Colorado Pork Producers Council.

Other Board Members