Log In      
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > News Releases > Pork Checkoff Board of Directors meet Sept. 4-6 in Des Moines

Pork Checkoff Board of Directors meet Sept. 4-6 in Des Moines

Contact: Cindy Cunningham
National Pork Board

Pork Checkoff Board of Directors meet Sept. 4-6 in Des Moines;
Nominations to fill 2014 Board seats begin now

DES MOINES, IOWA – Sept. 3, 2013 – The National Pork Board will begin building its 2014 marketing, research and education plans during a meeting Sept. 4-5 in Des Moines, Iowa. Board President Karen Richter, a farmer from Montgomery, Minn., will preside over the Sept. 4-6, 2013 meeting that will include producers from across the country working with the Board to develop the 2014 Pork Checkoff budget.

"Our annual Plan of Work meeting has become an important tradition in ensuring that we are investing Pork Checkoff dollars in a manner that meets the needs of pork producers and captures opportunity for the pork industry," said Karen Richter, board president. "We do have fewer dollars to work with this year, but I’m excited about the innovative and aggressive programs that our team has put together. With nearly 40 pork producers taking part in this year’s Plan of Work meeting, we look forward to a great discussion regarding how the Checkoff can best help producers meet the challenges of the coming year."

The agenda for the board meeting includes a focus on the 2014 budget, a report on the summer domestic marketing campaign, a briefing on recent communication initiatives, and an update on Pork Checkoff Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea Virus research and education. Meetings of the National Pork Board are open to the public. Those wishing to attend are asked to contact Jamie Lowrey at jlowrey@pork.org, or (515) 223-2600.

Deadline for 2014 Board Member Nominations Changed to Nov. 1, 2013

The Pork Checkoff’s Board of Directors is now accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms commencing in July 2014. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations or anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff, which includes pork producers and pork importers. A minimum of eight candidates must be ranked by Pork Act Delegates before being sent to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack for approval. 

"Serving on the National Pork Board is a great opportunity for producers to show their support of the industry, while helping to plan for a successful future," said Richter. "The Board plays a significant role, ensuring the industry voice is heard on a national level."  

Any person who is a pork producer or importer and has paid all Checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the National Pork Checkoff Board. The 15 positions on the Checkoff board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2014 currently are held by: 

Conley Nelson, Iowa
Karen Richter, Minnesota
Roy Henry, Kansas      
Henry Moore, North Carolina

Glen Walters, Georgia

Second Term
Second Term
Second Term

First Term
First Term

Not eligible for reelection
Not eligible for reelection
Not eligible for reelection
Eligible for reelection to 3-year term
Eligible for reelection to 3-year term

Candidates are also being sought for two open positions on the Pork Board Nominating Committee. Those appointed to the nominating committee will serve a two-year term in 2014 and 2015. The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 6-8, 2014, in Kansas City, Mo.

The application deadline has been moved up from past years toNov. 1, 2013, with interviews for each candidate to be held in Des Moines on Dec. 12-13, 2013.Please direct application requests and questions to the National Pork Checkoff Board either by mail to 1776 NW 114th St., Clive, Iowa 50325, by telephone to Teresa Wadsworth at (515) 223-2612 (email: TWadsworth@pork.org).

The National Pork Checkoff Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members. At the time of election, these states will be represented by the board members whose positions on the board are not due for election: Iowa, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, and South Dakota. In order to meet the 12-state requirement, candidates from at least three "new" states must be ranked in the top five of the eight nominees sent to the secretary of agriculture.

The National Pork Board has responsibility for Checkoff-funded research, promotion and consumer information projects and for communicating with pork producers and the public. Through a legislative national Pork Checkoff, pork producers invest $0.40 for each $100 value of hogs sold. Importers of pork products contribute a like amount, based on a formula. The Pork Checkoff funds national and state programs in advertising, consumer information, retail and foodservice marketing, export market promotion, production improvement, technology, swine health, pork safety and environmental management. For information on Checkoff-funded programs, pork producers can call the Pork Checkoff Service Center at (800) 456-7675 or check the Internet at www.pork.org.

Share |

Pork Checkoff Report:
Fall 2014

20 Years of Innovation

Pork Report Fall 2014


Quick Facts: The Pork Industry
at a Glance